One Word…Avatar!


I had the opportunity to watch Avatar on Christmas Eve 25th December 2009. I sat in the cinema with my 3D glasses on. It was the first time and in a long while that I watched a movie in the IMAX cinema. But this was worthwhile. This film was directed and written by James Cameron. He is the creator of Terminator and Titanic. The main actor was Sam Worthington (Terminator Salvation) who played the character Jake Sully. His character is naïve, but carries the plot along. The second actor Zoe Saldana (Star Trek and Drumline) plays the character Neytiri. And the next influential actress was Sigourney Weaver (Alien and Ghostbusters) who plays the character Dr Grace Augustine. They all play a part in the world of Avatar.

I enjoyed the movie as it took you into another world, another civilisation. It was a place of fantasy. The effects were excellent and the acting was convincing. It was emotional and at some point it felt like the audience were a part of the battle for freedom. The love story within the plot helps the movie to continue and appeals to the sensitivity of the audience. For those who love Action and Sci-fi, this is the film to watch. It is in my opinion one of the best films in 2009. I would rate it 10/10.

