Oops I did it again, it’s Britney


Britney Spears CircusBlur, Break The Ice, Circus, Freakshow, Get Naked (I Got A Plan), Gimme More, Hot As Ice, Kill The Lights, Perfect Lover, Radar, Why Should I Be Sad, and Womanizer.

I have no idea whether it is the controversy surrounding this time of her life that helped the publicity of her new sound or the fact that she got with Danja in 2006 and his sound can be described  as futuristic.  The main genre described as Electropop, Techno with influence from Dubstep, Euro Disco and Funk. Or the fact that Danja contacted his  writers: Keri Hilson, Jim Beanz, Marcella Araica and Corte Ellis. Who wrote most of the songs I listed  as my favorite from the Blackout LP.

Danja explained that the creative process was not difficult at first since he was “left to do pretty much whatever I wanted to”, and “if she felt it, she was gonna ride with it. If she didn’t, you’d see it in her face. Keri  Hilson wrote “Gimme More” with Spears in mind after Danja played her the instrumental, saying, “I just started singing, ‘Give me, Give me,’ and added a little more in and just having fun and messing around really.”

When recording the songs for Blackout Britney was 6months pregnant, showcasing her passion and commitment to her craft.

 T-Pain, who co-wrote “Hot as Ice”, was in the studio with Spears in February 2007, and stated that one of the three songs they recorded was finished in only an hour. He said that he “thought she was going to be sitting on the couch eating Doritos or nachos or something […] but she came in, shook my hand, gave me a hug and went right in the booth. She got in there and put it down.”

More interesting enough Britney was not allowed to make an reference to Justin Timberlake and the theme of the album was to celebrate womanhood.

After the chorus, the bridge begins with Spears saying “I like this part” mimicking Janet Jackson in “Nasty” (1986). The fourth song and third single “Break the Ice” opens with Spears singing the lines “It’s been a while / I know I shouldn’t keep you waiting / But I’m here now”. The song features a choir and Keri Hilson singing the backgrownd vocals sounding almost like a duet, she explained the song is about “two people, a girl and a guy, […] and the girl is saying, ‘You’re a little cold. Let me warm things up and break the ice.'”

Her 6th album Circus is very similar to Blackout, working with the same producers and writers.

Take a listen to the tracks here:

More Artist Spotlight Features

[Quotes taken from Wikipedia]
4 responses to “Oops I did it again, it’s Britney

  1. Thank you for such a fantastic web site. On what other blog could anyone get this kind of information written in such an insightful way? I have a presentation that I am just now working on, and I have been looking for such info.

  2. I just like the valuable info you supply to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and take a look at once more right here frequently. I’m rather sure I will be told many new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

Comments are closed.