Classic Throwback: Dead Presidents


dead presidents cover

Dead Presidents (1995)  Directed by Albert Hughes and Allen Hughes (Menace 2 Society). Based on a true story.

A Vietnam vet adjusts to life after the war while trying to support his family, but the chance of a better life may involve crime and bloodshed. (IMDb)

People were pretty pissed because they expected a movie revolving around a bank heist. I personally enjoyed the movie because it was sad and political. It made you question war and the consequences of being involved. Aside that, it was directed perfectly with  amazing actors/actresses.I loved the fact the Chris Tucker  (Friday, Rush hour) played a character that I felt was executed well.  And recently I’ve made it my personal mission to keep up with movies that  Larenz Tate‘s (Love Jones, Menace 2 Society) stars in because he is a great actor.

The end had my heart racing, the anticipation and fear of what these masked individuals were about to do and the price they would eventually pay for being involved was the highlight for me. The plot was disappointing for me because the sequence of events confused me. It felt rushed and I felt like certain scenes were skipped. But hopefully it was due to the fact that the story line had to be cut down  to a certain amount of time.

I encourage  aspiring film makers to watch this movie because of the cinematography  And for that reason I give it 8/10.

